Bill Granger’s Corn Fritters with Avocado Salsa

I actually posted this right back when I first started RecipeTin Eats. Back then, I had hardly any readers and my photos weren’t so great. But patience isn’t my greatest virtue and I was so excited about starting a food blog that I couldn’t wait to share my favourite recipes. Fast forward almost 2 years (2 years??? I’ve been doing this for 2 years??). My photography has somewhat improved. And I’m so blessed to have so many readers from all around this big wide world to share my recipes with. I made these corn fritters on the Easter long weekend and as I was making the “mmmm” noises as I munched through my pile of fritters, it made me sad to think that so few people had seen the recipe because it was buried in the archives (with not-so-crash-hot-photos!). So I decided to update the post, take fresh new photos and share this again!

There is a reason I have gone to the effort of reshooting and reposting this recipe – because they are very special corn fritters. These are Bill Granger’s corn fritters, from his popular bistro, arguably one of the best places for brunch in Sydney. Bill’s corn fritters are unlike any other “out there” because the whole fritter truly tastes of corn, rather than just bursts of it whenever you bite into a corn kernel. This is because of the extra step (worth it!) of blending most of the corn with the batter – along with coriander (cilantro) which gives it another flavour boost. If you have a handheld stick, you can just do this in the mixing bowl (this is how I do it), otherwise you can use a food processor or blender. PS To everyone who doesn’t like cutting corn off a cob because it goes everywhere, here’s my little tip: pop a ramekin in a large bowl, stand the corn on it and cut the kernels off. The bowl will catch the kernels that fly off the cob and the ramekin elevates the corn so it’s easy to slice all the way to the bottom. 🙂 PPS No laughing at my Baby Hands!?

Truly, these fritters are incredible, whether you use fresh, frozen or canned corn. To be honest, I normally use frozen corn – it’s just irresistibly convenient – but as with anything made using fresh rather than canned vegetables, it really is extra special if you use corn off the cob. The avocado salsa topping is a perfect accompaniment with these corn fritters. It’s juicy and creamy, and also adds a burst of freshness to this. Whether for breakfast, brunch, lunch or as a starter, these fritters are sophisticated and super easy to make. There’s a reason Bill’s is famous for these – they are that good! -Nagi x

More patties and fritters (I love them!)

Cheesy Ground Chicken Patties with Broccoli Broccoli Chicken Fritters – made with chopped chicken Crispy Zucchini Fritters Broccoli Fritters Greek Zucchini Tots (Mini Fritters) Salmon Patties and Thai Fish Cakes

  SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave

Bill Granger s Corn Fritters with Avocado Salsa - 61Bill Granger s Corn Fritters with Avocado Salsa - 30Bill Granger s Corn Fritters with Avocado Salsa - 83Bill Granger s Corn Fritters with Avocado Salsa - 83Bill Granger s Corn Fritters with Avocado Salsa - 45Bill Granger s Corn Fritters with Avocado Salsa - 24