It feels fitting to be sharing this maple bacon Breakfast Burger in honor of Father’s Day, because the two meals I most remember my own dad cooking are lazy weekend breakfasts and grilled hamburgers. Father’s Day is bittersweet for me. I lost my dad in a tragic accident 10 years ago, and this weekend is one of the times when I miss him most. I’d give anything to have him here to fire up the grill with me on Sunday, but since that cannot be, I’ve found other ways to feel close to him. I love sharing memories of my Dad, as well as cooking dishes that remind me of our time together in the kitchen. Burgers were the dinner my dad made for my sisters and I most often, one because they were delicious and easy, and two because we requested them constantly. Although my dad tended to keep his seasonings on the simpler side, I think he would approve of this amped-up breakfast burger recipe.

How to Make a Breakfast Burger

These breakfast burgers have an incredibly juicy texture, come fully loaded with some of the best burger fixin’s (ahem, bacon), and their flavor is downright addictive too.

The Ingredients

Ground Turkey. Seasoned with maple syrup, mustard, garlic, and smoked paprika these turkey burgers are lean while also bursting with flavor. Bacon. Brings the salty (and the smoky) to these beauties. Maple Syrup. Gives these burgers that breakfast flair with a touch or sweetness. Whole Grain Mustard. Adds some zip and bite to balance out the salty bacon and sweet maple syrup. Eggs. Cook your eggs however you please. Personally, I enjoy mine over easy with a beautifully runny yolk. YUM! Cheddar Cheese. My motto for cheese with these breakfast burgers is the sharper the better. Arugula. I feel like every burger needs just a little green and I love the bold, peppery freshness the arugula adds. English Muffins. Seemed like the natural choice for a bun with these breakfast burgers. Feel free to opt for a traditional bun or go bunless if that’s more your style.

The Directions

Even though its title is “breakfast burger,” this recipe is appropriate at all times of day. We had ours for “brinner” with a simple Arugula Salad. Since the breakfast burger patties are made with ground turkey, they are a well-balanced, protein-packed meal, and the “extras” (bacon, that glorious egg) keep them indulgent enough for bonafide weekend brunch or afternoon cookout.

Make Ahead + Storage Tips

To Make Ahead. Uncooked and tightly wrapped burger patties can be stored in the refrigerator for 1 day or frozen for 1 month. Let thaw overnight in the refrigerator. Allow uncooked patties to come to room temperature prior to grilling.To Store. Place patties in an airtight storage container in the refrigerator for up to 2 days.

More Delicious Burger Recipes

Avocado Burger with Chipotle Yogurt SauceTeriyaki Burgers with Grilled PineappleGreen Chile Grilled Chicken BurgersSuper Food Black Bean Vegan BurgersMediterranean Quinoa Burgers

Cast-Iron Grill Plate. No grill? No problem! An affordable grill plate can be used right on your regular stove and makes beautiful grill marks.Grill Set. This one is Ben’s favorite (for indoor grilling and all kinds of fish, roasted veggie, and fried egg flipping, I love this spatula). Breakfast Burger  Lean Turkey and Maple Bacon    WellPlated com - 37Breakfast Burger  Lean Turkey and Maple Bacon    WellPlated com - 86Breakfast Burger  Lean Turkey and Maple Bacon    WellPlated com - 79Breakfast Burger  Lean Turkey and Maple Bacon    WellPlated com - 21Breakfast Burger  Lean Turkey and Maple Bacon    WellPlated com - 74Breakfast Burger  Lean Turkey and Maple Bacon    WellPlated com - 76