Yes, I miss the croissants and the macarons and stopping into fine cheese shops just because we could, but what fills me with the greatest nostalgia is the long, leisurely café lunch. Every afternoon, Ben and I would pick a different Paris neighborhood, wander into whichever cozy café caught our eye, then settle in for a two-hour meal with glasses of wine and our books. We’d chat, people watch, and marvel at just how fabulous doing absolutely nothing can be. What surprised me the most about lunch in Paris wasn’t the unabashedly unhurried pace (though as an over-productive American who spent years eating lunch at her desk, the sensation never did wear off completely); it was the beautiful simplicity of the food. Most neighborhood Parisian cafes don’t serve lunches comprised of fussy dishes with six sauces and painstaking preparation. Rather, you’ll find simply grilled meats, composed salads, and tidy, open-faced sandwiches called tartines, and recipes like this butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Apple Soup – Cozy Comfort Food

Do not make the mistake of confusing “simple” with “boring.” Although French café lunches are not fussy, their flavor is profound, because they use the best-quality seasonal ingredients. I feel the same way about this butternut squash apple soup. A read of the ingredient list—tart apples, creamy butternut squash, yellow onions, and freshly grated nutmeg—do not do justice to the delicate balance of sweet and savory autumn flavors and the comforting, rich texture that this butternut squash soup recipe offers. If you were to stop by my house for an impromptu lunch any afternoon this fall or winter, butternut squash apple soup would be on the menu, one because it is absolutely scrumptious, and two because from September through February, I always have a quart or two of it tucked away in my freezer. Because butternut squash is plentiful, inexpensive, and delicious, I buy it in big quantities and turn it into a fresh pot of soup at least two or three times a month. (If you’re craving a bit more spice, try Spicy Butternut Squash Soup.) Though out the years, I’ve experimented with dozens of different recipes for butternut squash soup, and today’s version with apples and nutmeg is my favorite so far (or at least tied with Minestrone Soup). It’s healthy, cozy, lightly sweet, and marvelous reheated for an easy lunch or dinner. Although a bowl of this soup is fantastic on its own, I enjoy dressing it up with a dollop of Greek yogurt, crumble of goat cheese, or as I did the last time I made it, homemade sage Parmesan croutons. I cubed a crusty, chewy sourdough I picked up at a local bakery, tossed it with a bit of olive oil, salt, and sage, and 10 minutes later had golden, crunchy croutons to stir into my creamy butternut squash apple soup. While the croutons were still warm, I sprinkled them with freshly grated Parmesan. I love the nuttiness of the cheese with the round warmth of the nutmeg, but if you’d like to keep the butternut squash soup vegan, you can simply omit it.

More Butternut Squash Recipes

Butternut Squash Pasta with Sausage and KaleCrockpot Butternut Squash SoupRoasted Butternut SquashEasy Roasted Butternut Squash ParmesanSlow Cooker Risotto with Butternut SquashVegetarian Enchiladas with Butternut SquashOne Pan Italian Sausage Butternut Squash GnocchiAnd, all these other Healthy Butternut Squash Recipes!

My immersion blender was one of the best tools I ever bought myself and makes pureeing soups like this one astronomically easier (and safer) than transferring the piping hot soup mixture to a blender or food processor in batches.If you prefer a food processor, or are in the market for a new one, I have used and loved this one for almost nine years. It’s easy to clean and works as well as the day I bought it.

This butternut squash apple soup is a little piece of the simple, beautiful, and seasonal food I dream about when I think of French cafes, right here for us to enjoy. Pour yourself a glass of wine, and let’s pretend we are in Paris. Bon appétit!

Butternut Squash Apple Soup  Homemade Croutons     WellPlated com - 50Butternut Squash Apple Soup  Homemade Croutons     WellPlated com - 19Butternut Squash Apple Soup  Homemade Croutons     WellPlated com - 49Butternut Squash Apple Soup  Homemade Croutons     WellPlated com - 39Butternut Squash Apple Soup  Homemade Croutons     WellPlated com - 76Butternut Squash Apple Soup  Homemade Croutons     WellPlated com - 19Butternut Squash Apple Soup  Homemade Croutons     WellPlated com - 93