I love to host parties because I love spending quality time with my family and friends plus (this will surprise you…..) I love to cook. But no matter how good my intentions are to plan ahead, I always end up changing my mind at the last minute and scrambling to get organised. People think I’m an organised person – I have lists and lists of lists. But I always end up changing those lists at the last moment! Such is how this menu evolved. Though I was not hosting an annual Christmas get together with my friends this year, I offered to provide the mains and sides. I told my friends I would keep it simple – something to slap on the BBQ and a few salads. But then the festive spirit hit me. “Though the cook time for some of these is long, it is low maintenance – no basting and no turning is required.” No matter how much festive spirit I had, the fact was that it was the day before the party and I had limited shopping and preparation time. And every dish had to be “make ahead” without compromising on flavour or losing crispy skins! I like this menu because there’s a nice flow to making it. The total active prep time is only 1 1/2 hours and the baking time is very low maintenance – no basting, no turning. “I was very deliberate with my selection of ingredients to make this cost efficient.” Here’s a snapshot of what I made. If you scroll down you’ll see photos of each of them.

Easy Maple Sticky Glazed Ham (15 min prep, 1 – 1 1/2 hrs inactive baking, can be made ahead) Juicy Slow Cooker Turkey Breast (5 min prep, then set and forget, reheats well but best slow cooked overnight on the night before serving) Festive Duck with Apple Cider Drizzle (5 min prep, 1 1/2 hr inactive baking, reheats very well) Pork Apple Stuffing in Pancetta Cups (20 min prep and worth every second. Reheats extremely well) Julia Child’s Potato Dauphinoise Gratin (15 min prep, 45 min baking, reheats very well) Red, Green and White Christmas Salad (10 minutes prep) Warm Red Cabbage and Spinach with Garlic Herb Butter (10 minutes prep)

  “You just need to commit yourself for 1 1/2 hours. Your kitchen will look like a hurricane swept through it. But I promise, it’s worth it!”

Step by Step Work Flow

Day Before (Active Prep 1 hr 15 min) On the Day (Active Prep 15 min) Prior to Serving SERVE, EAT AND BE MERRY!! Easy Maple Sticky Glazed Ham – insanely easy to make and cost efficient with a super sticky and glossy skin. A fantastic centrepiece for any festive gathering!

Juicy Slow Cooker Turkey Breast – a surefire way for your turkey breast to come out juicy and moist. Only 5 minutes prep! Plus how to make an incredible, rich gravy using the slow cooker juices.

Festive Duck with Apple Cider Drizzle – just 5 minutes to prep a duck to roast it to crispy perfection! Reheats perfectly, juicy inside with crispy skin. Far easier to roast than chicken!

Pork Apple Stuffing in Pancetta Cups – this was by far the star of the Christmas party I catered for. Everybody went nuts over these – the men, the women AND the kids!

Julia Child’s Potato Dauphinoise Gratin – creamy potato bake by the Queen of French cooking. A great alternative to roast potatoes because it’s perfect for making ahead.

Red, Green and White Christmas Salad – all the colours of Christmas! This salad is perfect for making ahead.

Warm Red Cabbage and Spinach with Garlic Herb Butter – I love the bright colours of this salad! The garlic herb butter makes the humble cabbage irresistible.

Christmas Special  7 Course Easy Christmas Menu - 98Christmas Special  7 Course Easy Christmas Menu - 33Christmas Special  7 Course Easy Christmas Menu - 37Christmas Special  7 Course Easy Christmas Menu - 36Christmas Special  7 Course Easy Christmas Menu - 39Christmas Special  7 Course Easy Christmas Menu - 56Christmas Special  7 Course Easy Christmas Menu - 17Christmas Special  7 Course Easy Christmas Menu - 7Christmas Special  7 Course Easy Christmas Menu - 13Christmas Special  7 Course Easy Christmas Menu - 45