In my case, the “wherever” is Wisconsin, a few thousand miles north of the Florida escape Ben and I originally were slated to take this weekend. Unfortunately, he had to have an unplanned foot surgery, and since neither of us could picture him crutching down the beach, we decided to save our trip for a later date. I originally booked our tickets at 11:45 p.m. from the comfort of my bed. It had started snowing for the umpteenth time, I logged on, and in a moment I can only describe as GET ME OUT OF HERE, we wound up with two discount plane tickets to Miami. My brilliant late-night idea: we’d get a much-needed escape from the (still) cold Wisconsin weather and soak up some Vitamin D, all while eating copious amounts of Cuban food. At any hour, it was the perfect plan! Since missing vacation is a bummer, I decided to bring my personal favorite part of vacation home to us: THE FOOD! I took a classic recipe, Cuban Black Beans and Rice, and turned it into a meal “bowl” by piling it high with roasted vegetables, crispy baked plantains to mimic the Caribbean classic tostones, and then added an avocado to make it a complete meal.

I may have to wait until visiting Miami to try true authentic Cuban black beans and rice, but for now, this recipe is my way of making up for one of the parts of the trip we were looking forward to most: a food tour of Little Havana, a Miami neighborhood with strong Cuban and Central and South American roots. While this recipe is probably not something you’d find on an authentic Cuban restaurant menu (if I do when we finally take our trip, I’ll let you know), the spices and ingredients are true to traditional Cuban cuisine. As much as I adore black beans and Cuban rice (especially since these Instant Pot Black Beans came into my life), I wanted to transform rice and beans into an all-in-one meal.

How to Make This Cuban Black Beans and Rice

Also, this all-in-one adaptation of Cuban Black Beans and Rice is healthy and DELICIOUS. I love all of the different textures and spices. This meal is truly a win in the feels great/tastes great department.

The Ingredients

Black Beans. High in fiber and protein, they make this dish filling.Plantains. For even more texture, I added baked plantains.Red Bell Peppers + Red Onion. I settled on roasted red peppers and onions for the veggies, which tasted fabulous with the spiced beans.Spices. Salt, cumin, allspice, oregano, and garlic added the perfect amount of flavor.Jalapeno. A bit of spice.Tomato Paste. For deep, delicious flavor.Toppings. I finished my beans and rice off with lots of colorful chopped radishes, cilantro, and a squeeze of lime.

What are Plantains?

If you’ve never had a plantain, it’s that thing that looks like a giant banana that’s usually found in the grocery store next to the normal bananas. The two, while similar in appearance, taste completely different. Plantains are starchy (in a good way) and range from green (unripe) to black (very ripe). Using green plantains is traditional and will give you a bewitchingly addictive “chip” effect. I equally adore roasted ripe plantains, which are much sweeter. This Cuban Black Beans and Rice recipe calls for the plantains to be ripe, but if you only have green plantains, they’re delicious served on the side. If you’ve never peeled a plantain before, I recommend checking out the Pioneer Woman’s tips for how to peel plantains. Buy the biggest, fattest plantains you can find and be patient. It took me a few tries to get the hang of it.

For those with dietary concerns, Cuban Black Beans and Rice are vegan, gluten free, and nut free too, so all can enjoy. I can totally see them happening for a fun, unique dinner party. “Build Your Own Cuban Beans and Rice Bowls.” I’d dive in!

How to Store, Reheat, and Freeze Cuban Beans and Rice

To Store. Store leftovers in the refrigerator for up to 3 days.To Reheat. Reheat gently in the microwave until warmed through.To Freeze. The beans and rice can be frozen for up to 3 months. To best enjoy frozen leftovers, I recommend letting the beans and rice thaw overnight in the refrigerator and making a fresh batch of roasted vegetables and plantains.

These Cuban Beans and Rice work well for meal prep also. The next day for lunch, I stirred the leftover veggies, rice, and black beans together in a bowl, popped it into the microwave, and then topped it with avocado. Delish and a total upgrade to my midday routine!

From Wisconsin with love, a little piece of vacation.

Cuban Black Beans and Rice with Roasted Peppers and Plantains - 99Cuban Black Beans and Rice with Roasted Peppers and Plantains - 55Cuban Black Beans and Rice with Roasted Peppers and Plantains - 52Cuban Black Beans and Rice with Roasted Peppers and Plantains - 55Cuban Black Beans and Rice with Roasted Peppers and Plantains - 1Cuban Black Beans and Rice with Roasted Peppers and Plantains - 32Cuban Black Beans and Rice with Roasted Peppers and Plantains - 59Cuban Black Beans and Rice with Roasted Peppers and Plantains - 10