I want the extra-large Grilled Sweet Potato Fries order. And I don’t want to share. I know it’s hypocritical. I’m THAT girl at dinner who will happily mooch your fries (I promise I only want a few!), but when a healthy version of sweet potato fries is on the table, I can’t help but want every last delicious wedge all to myself. Fortunately, with this easy method to make Grilled Sweet Potato Fries at home, everyone can munch barbecued sweet potato slices to his or her heart’s content.

About These Grilled Sweet Potato Fries

I’ve set a goal this summer to grill more often and to increase my grilling prowess while I do it. Although I could probably subsist on Grilled Chicken Fajitas and Grilled Pesto Chicken Skewers for the next three months and be a happy girl, for the sake of balance and variety, I wanted to learn to grill more vegetables too (like these Grilled Brussels Sprouts and Grilled Potatoes). After all, what is a Green Chile Grilled Chicken Burger or Portobello Mushroom Burger without a side of fries (or Brussels Sprouts Chips or Grilled Asparagus) to go along with it? I played around with a few different ways to make sweet potato fries on the grill (and with Air Fryer Sweet Potato Fries too), and the method for grilling sweet potato slices I’m sharing today (loosely adapted from Bobby Flay) was by far the most effective. You begin by boiling the sweet potatoes whole on the stove until tender, then slice them into wedges, toss them with the spices, and grill. The pre-boil does add a bit of extra time, but the resulting creamy interior and crisp exterior is absolutely worth it. If you need to speed the process along, you can boil the sweet potatoes a day in advance, then store them whole in the refrigerator until you are ready to fire up the grill. Once you have your sweet potatoes ready for the barbecue, you can toss them in any blend of spices you like. My go-to for sweet potatoes is a sweet, smoky combo of brown sugar or maple syrup and chipotle chile pepper. The pairing is magnificent, and years and years after adding it to sweet potato dishes, I have yet to tire of it. I wrote this recipe for four sweet potatoes, enough to serve four to six average sweet potato fry lovers. You can easily adjust the quantities up or down depending upon the size of your party, its relative sweet potato fry obsession, and, of course, how willing you are to share.

More Delicious Sweet Potato Recipes

Sweet Potato WedgesSweet Potato Hash BrownsSweet Potato Bites with Avocado and BaconSweet Potato Sausage Skewers

Grill tongsAll-purpose baking sheet (I use this to carry the veggies to the grill, then serve them from it directly) Grilled Sweet Potato Fries   How to Make Potato Wedges on the Grill - 77Grilled Sweet Potato Fries   How to Make Potato Wedges on the Grill - 45Grilled Sweet Potato Fries   How to Make Potato Wedges on the Grill - 15Grilled Sweet Potato Fries   How to Make Potato Wedges on the Grill - 5Grilled Sweet Potato Fries   How to Make Potato Wedges on the Grill - 96