The recipe I have shared here is the way my mom makes. It is adapted from our soft & fluffy idli recipe that I have shared earlier. This recipe always yields me consistent results & makes the best soft fluffy ragi idlis. Ragi is one of the whole grains we eat the most at home. So I make various foods using them. These ragi idlis & dosas are now on a rotation for our Breakfast & dinner menu. This recipe uses whole ragi grains and not ragi flour. You may also use ragi rava which is available in most stores now. You can also make your own ragi rava and use it here in this recipe. These are made much the same way as the regular idlis. First urad dal and ragi are soaked for few hours. Then the batter is made and fermented overnight.

Tips

This batter is an all in one. I use the same batter to make dosas, uttapam and paniyaram as well. Good quality urad dal is the key here to get them fluffy. Methi seeds or thick poha help in fermentation. So do not skip them.Ensure the batter is well fermented and risen before making the idlis.There is no rice used in the recipe. So these are great for those trying to minimize rice in their diet.

However you can also substitute half cup of the ragi with idli rice. Sometimes my kids are too fussy to eat these as there is a lot of ragi flavor in them. So I replace a part of the ragi with idli rice. These are best served hot with tiffin sambar or any spicy Chutney . More Ragi Recipes,Ragi ladooEasy ragi dosaRagi maltEggless ragi biscuit

Recipe card