I’m a scone fanatic. The sum of the scones I’ve devoured in my lifetime could sustain the population of a small island for a remarkable period. In my life’s work of scone eating (one of my more impressive achievements), I developed a clear idea of what I am looking for in my ideal scone:

Supreme moistness and ultra fluffiness (as in these Pumpkin Scones).Alluring flavors (like these Savory Scones with Bacon Cheddar and Chive).That perfect exterior crunch at the top and edges.AND the kicker—whole wheat flour.

While I’ll never say no to an indulgent, white-flour, heavy cream-laden scone (I’m talking about you, Strawberry Cream Scones), for my regular baking and eating, I prefer whole wheat scones, which are more nourishing and filling. Concerned about these scones being dense and dry? Don’t be. These rhubarb scones are the culmination of my whole wheat scone baking efforts. I’ve baked my way through an arsenal of whole wheat scones to perfect this recipe so you can trust me when I say this healthy whole wheat scone recipe with rhubarb is the one. In fact, I think it’s true love.

How to Make Rhubarb Scones

These rhubarb scones will be the softest, fluffiest whole wheat scones you’ll ever make. From the first bite, I promise that these will become your go-to whole wheat scone base forevermore.

The Ingredients

Rhubarb. Not just for Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp, rhubarb also makes killer scones. Its bright, tart flavor contrasts the sweetness of the scones and compliments the nuttiness of the whole wheat flour.Whole Wheat Flour. Provides the scones with a nutritional boost of extra protein, fiber, and iron.

The Directions

Storage Tips

To Store. Scones are best enjoyed the day they are made but can be individually wrapped and stored at room temperature for 2 days.To Freeze. Scones may also be individually wrapped in plastic and frozen for up to 1 month. Defrost in the fridge overnight or at room temperature before serving.

True love lasts a lifetime, even my next batch of whole wheat rhubarb scones vanishes by noon. Feel free to swap in whatever fruits/nuts/chips suit your fancy. This recipe is super forgiving and adaptable to suit individual taste preferences and the seasons. Both were positively delish but I decided I prefer the nutty flavor of regular whole wheat flour in my scones. Though I selfishly selected my regular whole wheat flour preference for the recipe, feel free to choose whichever variety you prefer.

Make the batter and shape the scones on a baking sheet just as you ordinarily would. Then, instead of putting the sheet in the oven, pop it into your freezer! Once the scones have hardened, wrap them individually in plastic, then pop them into a zip-top bag. Whenever you are craving a freshly baked scone, simply unwrap and bake. No need to thaw—just add a few minutes to the baking time. They’ll taste just as fresh and wonderful as if you had made the batter that morning. Rhubarb Scones  Healthy Whole Wheat Recipe    WellPlated com - 76Rhubarb Scones  Healthy Whole Wheat Recipe    WellPlated com - 87Rhubarb Scones  Healthy Whole Wheat Recipe    WellPlated com - 18Rhubarb Scones  Healthy Whole Wheat Recipe    WellPlated com - 79Rhubarb Scones  Healthy Whole Wheat Recipe    WellPlated com - 57Rhubarb Scones  Healthy Whole Wheat Recipe    WellPlated com - 28