Satay Chicken is probably better known as Malaysian and Thai. But actually, it is originally from Indonesia. And as with all popular dishes from cuisines around the world, there are many versions of chicken satay. I’d like to share all the popular ones with you eventually – Thai, Malaysian and even the Singaporean version. But I thought it would be ideal to start with the original and the easiest – the Indonesian version. When I was comparing the various satay chicken recipes I’ve used in the past, I realised that though they had some similarities, they are actually made very differently. None are too hard, but most required many ingredients. And when I say many, I’m not exaggerating. Malaysian Satay Chicken requires 25+ ingredients (the one I use requires 32). The Thai version doesn’t require quite as many, but not far off, especially if you make it using homemade red curry paste (worth every ounce of effort). However, the Indonesian version requires far less. Just as tasty as the other versions – just different. As my sister always says – “same, same…but DIFFERENT!”.

The Peanut Sauce I use in this recipe is not a 100% authentic Indonesian recipe, but with good reason. The traditional Indonesian peanut sauce is made simply with peanuts, kecap manis (sweet soy sauce), chillies, shallots and lime. Not cooked, just ground together into a thick paste. I am convinced that Indonesian peanuts are different to Australian peanuts. Because every single time I have tried the traditional recipe, the ground peanuts come out kind of “gritty”, like desiccated coconut. The sauce does not have the creaminess that you get at Indonesian restaurants and in Indonesia (I think I ate satay every day when I was in Bali!). I tried it numerous ways – using a mortar and pestle (the traditional way – it’s tiring!), food processor and even a blender stick. None worked. For the purpose of sharing this recipe with you, I tried the original yet again and it still didn’t work. I have a few peanut sauce recipes I use regularly – a Vietnamese one (I shared this in the Vietnamese Rice Paper Rolls recipe), a Thai one (I’ll share this one day!), a Malaysian one (which takes time to cook and is the most complex one) and this one which I made up myself. It is a mish mash of all these recipes! This peanut sauce is made using store bought peanut butter. No, that is not authentic. But don’t be a snob! It’s flavoured with “real” Indonesian flavours so it doesn’t taste “westernised”. And it’s FAST and EASY to make. I bet that Indonesian restaurants use at least some peanut butter in their satay sauce…..he he! 😉 – Nagi

Chicken on sticks is always a good thing!

Pineapple Coconut Hawaiian Chicken Skewers Honey Sriracha Chicken Skewers Thai Chicken Satay with Peanut Sauce Chicken Souvlaki (Greek) Yakitori (Japanese skewers) – on my mother’s Japanese cooking website, RecipeTin Japan!

  SaveSave SaveSave

Satay Chicken with Peanut Sauce  Indonesian Bali  - 16Satay Chicken with Peanut Sauce  Indonesian Bali  - 45Satay Chicken with Peanut Sauce  Indonesian Bali  - 10Satay Chicken with Peanut Sauce  Indonesian Bali  - 37Satay Chicken with Peanut Sauce  Indonesian Bali  - 23Satay Chicken with Peanut Sauce  Indonesian Bali  - 6