The Thai stir fry sauce I use in this Spicy Thai Chicken Stir Fry is like the Thai equivalent of Charlie, my All Purpose Chinese Stir Fry Sauce. If you haven’t discovered Charlie yet, pop over because honestly, especially if you are pressed for time, he will be life changing. Yes, I’ve given my Chinese stir fry sauce a name, and yes there is logic – albeit bland / crazy – behind it. You can read about it when you get the recipe for Charlie. 😉 Just like Charlie, the Thai stir fry sauce used in this recipe is similar to many but an exact replica of none. If you scan the Sauce ingredients of Pad See Ew (Thai Stir Fried Noodles), Thai Drunken Noodles (Pad Kee Mao) and Thai Chilli Basil Chicken, you will see similarities to the one I use in this Thai stir fry.

I don’t actually even know if this recipe has a name. It’s probably not something you would find in a Thai restaurant. By this, I mean it’s not a “known” Thai dish, like Pad Thai, Pad See Ew etc. In many of the Thai cookbooks I have flicked through over the years, I almost always find a generic stir fry that uses a very similar sauce. I even found one in the Spice I Am cookbook (read more about that in the Pad Thai recipe, it’s my current favourite Thai cookbook). The quantities differ, but generally, the common ground is always garlic (lots), chilli (lots!), soy sauce (varying combinations of light, dark and all purpose), Oyster Sauce (almost always), fish sauce (very common) and sugar (almost always).

Though I use this Thai stir fry sauce to make all sorts of stir fries – even noodles – this recipe I’m sharing today is the one I make most frequently. The main reason being because it’s such an easy Thai stir fry. Because making it with ground chicken means no chopping meat, no marinating. And the flavour of the Thai stir fry sauce really penetrates throughout the whole stir fry.

Serve this over steamed jasmine rice, Thai Fried Rice, Pineapple Fried Rice or Coconut Rice In Thailand, many dishes are served with a juicy wedges of tomato and cucumber. No dressing, just plain. They are a great pairing with the kapow flavours going on in most Thai dishes. Plus, it rounds out out the meal so we get our veg fix! 🙂 But I also happened to have a big batch of my all time most frequently made Asian-esque salad: a Cabbage salad with crunchy noodles and a sesame dressing. So I stuck it in the photo to give you a little preview because it’s coming soon. I make it so often it borders on the side of obsession. But the sheer convenience, speed and utter tastiness of the salad is what has had me captivated since my early twenties. It’s coming soon, I promise. Possibly Wednesday, along with another salad. Hmm. Maybe this weeks’ Meat Free Wednesday will be an explosion of my very favourite salads. What do you think? – Nagi x PS Is it just me, or is there a weird pinkish glow going on in the bottom left corner of the photo below? I must’ve been wearing a hot pink top when I took this shot. Jeez. The perils of fashion and food photography!!! 😉

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

WARNING: Explicit sightings of Baby Hands may offend some. It was a really hot day when I filmed this, okay?? My hands swell in heat! 😂

LIFE OF DOZER

You would think a dog this cute would sleep cute too. Curled up in a tight little ball, head snuggled on his paws. But no. This is how he usually sleeps. Just layin’ it all out there. 🙄 At least he’s using his tail for modesty. He better not have slobbered on my ugg boot!

Spicy Thai Chicken Stir Fry - 37Spicy Thai Chicken Stir Fry - 72Spicy Thai Chicken Stir Fry - 29Spicy Thai Chicken Stir Fry - 44Spicy Thai Chicken Stir Fry - 91Spicy Thai Chicken Stir Fry - 66Spicy Thai Chicken Stir Fry - 71