We’re getting to that time of year when summer squash is becoming abundant. I’m up to my ears in zucchini and yellow squash – and I’m loving every minute of it. One of these years I need to start planting my own, but until then, the green and yellow squash combination from Costco is just perfect. From zucchini noodles to zucchini fries, there are so many possibilities! And in case you didn’t know, you can use zucchini and yellow squash interchangeably in pretty much any recipe that calls for one or the other. They’re especially versatile in stuffed summer squash recipes. If I had to pick a favorite way to use up zucchini and yellow squash, any stuffed summer squash recipe would be the clear winner. Not only does it look gorgeous and lend itself to a variety of fillings, it also makes for an easy dinner that leaves only one pan to clean. My husband does the dishes at our house while I do the cooking, but I know he’ll thank me for that one.

The only challenging part about creating stuffed summer squash recipes is figuring out what to call them. Often times, I want to draw attention to so many of the delicious contents. Even though this recipe has only ten ingredients, so many of them seemed important to mention: summer squash, shiitake mushrooms, ground beef, caramelized onions, garlic, and Swiss cheese. How does one even begin to narrow this down? The name I ended up with – stuffed summer squash boats with beef, Shiitake mushrooms & Swiss cheese – is a bit of a mouthful, but I thought it was worth it to point out as many of the flavors as possible. Shiitake Swiss beef stuffed summer squash boats. Let’s just pretend that rolls off the tongue. Wait, you mean it doesn’t? The taste will make up for it, I promise. It’s actually kind of fitting, now that I think about it, because a big mouthful is exactly what you’ll want when you see these lovely zucchini and yellow squash boats in front of you.

If you haven’t tried shiitake mushrooms before, this recipe is a great way to start. They share some similarities with portobello mushrooms, but have a deeper umami flavor. You can definitely use other types of mushrooms for this dish too, but shiitakes are my favorite, hands down. The filling in these stuffed yellow squash and zucchini literally melts in your mouth. The earthy mushrooms pair wonderfully with the naturally sweet caramelized onions, browned ground beef, and gooey Swiss cheese. Can you imagine the flavors together? Excuse me while I go daydream about them… If you manage to have any left over, these stuffed summer squash boats freeze well, too. (Many of the summer squash recipes here do, too!) I’ll be making a bunch of them to enjoy in the winter, when I know I’ll be missing my summer squash. When you’re craving comfort food later, these will totally do the trick.

Baking Sheet – This is my personal favorite baking sheet to use for almost everything. It’s nonstick, heavy duty, and perfect for making these low carb beef filled summer squash boats. Parchment Paper – Parchment paper makes clean-up after making this stuffed squash recipe a breeze. Skillet – Don’t forget you will need a skillet for one step of this recipe. These nonstick skillets are the perfect choice.

  Share your recipe picture by tagging @wholesomeyum and hashtag it #wholesomeyum on Instagram, or in our Facebook support group, too - I’d love to see it!