Tender and delicate veal scallopini served with delicious, creamy mushroom, Italian herb and wine sauce. Add some heirloom tomatoes for more flavor and serve with your favorite side dish. The sauce alone will knock your socks off! A definite must try! When I am looking to make a quick, tasty and healthy dinner, I turn to chicken breasts. I suppose that’s what most of us do. I also like chicken alternatives, like pan-fried pork chops that can be prepared in a matter of minutes, or salmon piccata. Another dish in my arsenal that fits the bill is veal scallopini. I don’t make it as frequently as I could, but when I do, everyone loves it and asks for seconds.

Veal scallopini is a type of Italian dish that comes in many forms. It typically consists of thinly sliced veal that is dredged in wheat flour and sautéed in one of a variety of redux sauces. In Italy, every home has it’s own veal scallopini recipe. Just like in any other country, every home has it’s own version of a traditional dish. I like my veal scallopini covered with a thick and creamy mushroom sauce. Perhaps creamy sauce is not an Italian thing, but it’s so good that it literally gets licked off the plates. I also like my scallopini to get a burst of flavor from ingredients like tomatoes, white wine, garlic, capers, fresh basil and oregano. Now, this is an Italian thing! I love how their dishes are so simple yet so flavorful and exciting.

 

Veal Scallopini with Creamy Mushroom Sauce - 70Veal Scallopini with Creamy Mushroom Sauce - 52Veal Scallopini with Creamy Mushroom Sauce - 61Veal Scallopini with Creamy Mushroom Sauce - 50